• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Copyright SOS Fracture Alliance 2017


Executive Committee

Professor Markus Seibel is an Endocrinologist at the University of Sydney and heads the Department of Endocrinology & Metabolism at Concord Hospital, Sydney. He is an active clinician in the field of bone and mineral metabolism and passionate about improving fracture prevention for all Australians. Markus has many years of experience in running and analysing secondary fracture prevention programs. He currently chairs the Alliance’s Governing Committee.

Professor Markus Seibel, Chair


Professor Bruce Armstrong is a public health physician and retired public health academic with experience in health service management and operations, and good connections with senior officers in the Commonwealth Department of Health, NSW Ministry of Health and WA Health Department. He has substantial epidemiological and health services research experience and is contributing to the design of the national secondary fracture prevention program and to establishing what key areas of government are likely to give their support.

Professor Bruce Armstrong, Deputy Chair

Ms Colleen Langron is a Physiotherapist with over 20 years clinical and research experience. She has worked in all areas of gerontology and assists the National and NSW Gerontology Committees of the Australian Physiotherapy Association with the translation of research into clinical practice.

Ms Colleen Langron


Ann Robinson is an endorsed Nurse Practitioner (NP) having graduated from James Cook University with a Masters of Nursing, Nurse Practitioner in 2012. Ann is Past President of the Endocrine Nurses Society of Australasia (ENSA) and has worked across both public and private health systems with a special interest in bone health and fracture prevention. Ann currently works at Gold Coast Health as a Nurse Practitioner collaborating between hospital and community services to improve osteoporosis awareness and care.

Ann Robinson


Professor Jacqui Close is a clinician and academic in the field of geriatric medicine. Her particular area of interest is in surgery for older people and she has worked in the field of orthogeriatrics for almost 20 years. She is the President of the Australian and New Zealand Society for Geriatric Medicine and Co-Chairs the ANZ Hip Fracture Registry.

Professor Jacqui Close


Dr Andreas Loefler is an orthopaedic surgeon and Head of the Department of Orthopaedics the Prince of Wales Public Hospital. He has a strong interests in joint replacement, spinal surgery, trauma and fracture prevention. He is the Immediate Past-President of the Australian Orthopaedic Association.

Dr Andreas Loefler


Greg Lyubomirsky is the Chief Executive of Osteoporosis Australia. Greg has decades of experience in the healthcare industry and in chronic disease management. He is passionate about patient support and achieving better outcomes for patients.

Greg Lyubomirsky


Dr Gabor Major is the Director of Rheumatology at Hunter New England Health Service, Co–Chair of the Musculoskeletal Network, NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation, and Conjoint Senior Lecturer at the School of Medicine and Public Health, Faculty of Health and Medicine, Newcastle University. He has a long standing interest in fragility fracture prevention, and was instrumental in setting up a service at the John Hunter Hospital.

Dr Gabor Major


Patricia (Trish) Stabback lived on a winery at Peel, NSW, and taught at MacKillop College for 27 years, finishing as Assistant Principal. Trish then retired to Arrawarra (near Coffs Harbour) in 2006.Trish joined CWA in Bathurst but committed participation was difficult as she was teaching full time.Both her grandmother and mother had instilled in her a passion for volunteering.

So, in 2006, Trish began her Woolgoolga CWA life as Branch Secretary and Councillor and Delegate to State Conference. She then became Group Secretary, followed by President/Executive Representative. In 2016, she was elected as State Vice President, and appointed by the State Office Bearers to chair the newly-re-formed Social Issues Committee. In 2017, Trish was appointed as a moderator for the CWA Closed members Facebook page, and also to membership of the Executive Sub-Committee reviewing the CWA’s Structure.

Patricia (Trish) Stabback


Professor Tania Winzenberg is an academic general practitioner and epidemiologist with a longstanding research focus on the betterment of bone health, particularly in younger women and in children.  She is a member of the Australian New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society, the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research and of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.  Through the RACGP, she has been involved in writing both preventive guidelines and treatment guidelines for osteoporosis.  Tania is also osteoporosis editor of the Cochrane Musculoskeletal Group for the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Professor Tania Winzenberg


Executive Officer

Mr James Ansell is the Executive Officer of the SOS Fracture Alliance.  James' background is mainly in the area of Science Communication, he obtained a B.Sci (Hons) degree at the Australian National University and is a PhD Candidate with the Australian Centre for the Public Awareness of Science.  From his previous and current work he has ample and relevant experience in the development of the Alliance's strategic vision.


Paul Mitchell has spent the last 16 years working on programs to improve fragility fracture care and prevention throughout the world. Paul has served as an advisor to government organisations in New Zealand and the UK. Paul is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Osteoporosis New Zealand, an Adjunct Senior Lecturer at the University of Notre Dame Australia and Managing Director of Synthesis Medical NZ Ltd. 

Paul Mitchell

Professor Kerrie Sanders has been working in clinical research of osteoporosis for more than 20 years and combines this experience with her interest in health economics. In collaboration with Jenny Watts and Julie Abimanyi-Ochom, Kerrie has produced Australian and individual state reports on Burden of Disease analyses for osteoporosis and related fracture 2012 to 2022. Kerrie is a member of several editorial boards and national and international scientific advisory committees including Osteoporosis Australia and the International Osteoporosis Foundation. 

Professor Kerrie Sanders

Isobel Hymer is a second year medical student at Griffith University. She completed a Bachelor of Biomedicine at The University of Melbourne in 2017. Isobel is involved in osteoporosis-related research at Gold Coast University Hospital and has a keen interest in working to improve fragility fracture outcomes in the Australian population.

Isobel Hymer, Communications